• Membership Certificate

  • Quarterly Journal

  • Admittance to Member Only Events and Seminars

  • Eligibility to test for rank in Hapkido, Sulsa Do and related arts

  • Discounts on products and services


The Hwarang, were a class of warriors in ancient Korea. The Hwarang often draw parallels to the Japanese Samurai or European Knights. The Hwarang studied art, philosophy, and religion. They also trained in martial arts, horsemanship, swordsmanship, archery, javelin and stone throwing, and other related arts. They served their kingdom with honor andintegrity, known for their code of conduct and highest standards.

​The Buddhist monks were often mentors for the Hwarang in both physical and spiritual ways. Won Gwang Beop Sa was a Buddhist monk who was asked by the Hwarang to teach them ways to develop ambition, bravery, and honor, in order to protect the Silla Kingdom from the other kingdoms inhabiting the peninsula. Won Gwang trained these youths in three areas:

1. Self-defense capabilities

2. Self-confidence

3. Self-control

Won Gwang taught the youths of the Hwarang to become warriors who could defend their beliefs with martial arts, to be confident in their actions, and to control themselves and their surroundings. Won Gwang gave to these Hwarang teachings in gwon beop (Martial methods or skills) that combined the secret Buddhist monk's physical and mental exercises. Won Gwang also composed the "Five Commandments for Secular Life"

1. Loyalty to one's lord

2. Love and respect your parents

3. Trust among friends

4. Never retreat in battle

5. Never take a life without a just reason

These have since been attributed as a guiding ethos for the Hwarang. Hwarang members also learned the Five Cardinal Confucian Virtues, the Six Arts, the Three Scholarly Occupations, and the Six Ways of Government Service.

These commandments and teachings of Won Gwang were followed by the Hwarang to protect the Silla Kingdom from rival kingdoms and helped unify the nation of Ancient Korea until the fall of the Silla Kingdom.

The Hwarang became an elevated symbol of importance to the history of Korea, because of their morality, integrity, and ethics. The Hwarang Society is a modern fraternal order which draws inspiration from the Hwarang Knights of old. The brotherhood is dedicated to goals:

1. Preservation of Korean martial culture

2. Brotherhood among practitioners of the Korean Martial Arts

3. The betterment of self, community and country.

Membership in the society is open to persons of good character who are willing to support the goals of the organization. There are currently three levels of membership. Members can achieve intermediate and advanced levels by reaching personal training goals and by supporting the organization and its goals. Members are also eligible for special designations and titles.